Former Bulldogs Centralizing With Canadian National Women’s Team In 2017-18

Three former Minnesota Duluth players and a former assistant coach will centralize with the Canadian National Women’s Team in 2017-18 in preparation for the 2018 Olympics in PyeongChang, South Korea.

Former Bulldogs defensemen Brigette Lacquette (2011-13, 14-15) and Jocelyne Larocque (07-11), as well as former forward Haley Irwin (07-09, 10-12) are part of a group of 28 players that will be based on Calgary, Alberta, beginning in August. The final roster for the 2018 Winter Games is tentatively scheduled to be announced in late December.

Irwin has won back-to-back Olympic gold medals with Canada in 2010 in Vancouver and 2014 in Sochi. Larocque won gold with Canada in 2014. Lacquette was centralized in 2013-14, but didn’t make the Olympic team.

The 2018 Canadian Olympic team will be coached by former Bulldogs assistant coach and current Dartmouth head coach Laura Schuler (08-15), who has coached Team Canada since the 2015-16 season.

A total of 12 players with WCHA ties are part of Canada’s centralized roster, including Wisconsin senior-to-be Emily Clark, Minnesota junior-to-be Sarah Potomak and incoming Gophers freshman Amy Potomak (younger sister of Sarah).